View from Stage looking out into Empty Auditorium Seats

Activities and Organizations

Madisonville Community College faculty and staff sponsor a number of student organizations. Below are names, descriptions, and contacts for each one.

Christ Reaching Out Saving Students (CROSS)

CROSS is a Christian fellowship group for college students. It is an extension of Baptist Collegiate Ministries, not just for Baptists, but is open to everyone interested.

  • Muhlenberg Campus – Mondays at 12:15 – 12:50 – Room 101
  • North Campus – Wednesdays at 12:15 – 1:00 – Room 309 JHG Building
  • Health Campus – Thursdays at 12:00 – 1:00 – Room 214/215 Hatley Building

Lunch is provided free at each meeting and we have a time of fellowship and devotion.

Contact: Connie Harralson, (270) 824-8648, connie.harralson@kctcs.edu

Finance and Economics Club

Are you looking for an opportunity to discuss current economic events? Are you interested in a career in business, finance, or economics? If so, check out the Finance and Economics Club. All majors are encouraged to attend and learn about the world of finance and economics.

Contact: Jeff Florea, (270) 824-8687, JHG 245, jeffm.florea@kctcs.edu

Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA)

The mission of HOSA is to inform the general public and the college community about different aspects of health care professions and to encourage the student body to consider and pursue health careers. Meeting times will vary during the year according to schedules.

Contact:
Karol Conrad, (270) 824-1741, ACAD 203, karol.conrad@kctcs.edu
Tonia Gibson, (270) 824-1739, ACAD 207C, tonia.gibson@kctcs.edu

Kentucky Association of Nursing Students (KANS)

KANS is a part of the National Student Nursing Association (NSNA). We have student elected officers here at the college and students can run for state office as well. State and national conferences give the students a chance to network with colleagues from other colleges and universities.

Contact: Sarah Peyton, MCC Health Campus, (270) 824-1786, speyton0006@kctcs.edu or Ava Cook, MCC Health Campus, (270) 824-1793, ava.cook@kctcs.edu

Kentucky Education Association- Student Program (KEA-SP) KEA Student Program is a professional association for college students preparing to enter the teaching profession. KEA-SP participates in NEA Read Across America and many other community service activities. Contact: Lisa Lee, JHG 271, Lisae.Lee@kctcs.edu, (270) 824-8612

Leadership MCC

Leaders are made and not born- and Leadership MCC can help make you a leader in your school, church, or community. Students participate in academic and extracurricular activities and earn points toward the Leadership Medallion, awarded at graduation. Field trips, seminars, and other experiences are available.

Contact: Jay Parrent, jay.parrent@kctcs.edu, 270) 824-8571

Lions Club

The MCC Lions Club (chartered in 2001) is a member of the International Lions Club Organization. The Lions Club hosts the annual Hopkins County School District Talent Competition as a fund raiser for scholarships and eye care assistance. Club meetings are usually the second Wednesday of each month in JHG 162 (12:15-1:00).

Contact: Mary Warren, mary.warren@kctcs.edu or Wes Ausenbaugh, JHG 301, wes.ausenbaugh@kctcs.edu

Multicultural Student Association The Multicultural Student Association provides new and returning minority students with academic support and advising, cultural enrichment activities, and opportunities for social interaction with on-campus peers. Contact: James Bowles, JHG C85 (270) 824-8588, james.bowles@kctcs.edu

Phi Beta Lambda

Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) is the collegiate division of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA). It is an equal opportunity organization that seeks the interest of students who have a curiosity about business and/or business-related fields. PBL helps students develop leadership and networking opportunities in a collegial setting as well as within the community so that they will benefit as productive and efficient citizens. If you are interested in developing leadership, communication, and team skills, or simply looking for an organization to meet and network with others at the local, state, or national levels; PBL is the organization for you.

Contact: Kim Simons, JHG 270, kimberlyl.simons@kctcs.edu, (270) 824-8639 or Clarissa Hill, JHG 273, clarissa.hill@kctcs.edu, (270) 824-8620

Phi Theta Kappa

PTK recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. PTK provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals, lively fellowship for student scholars, and interest in continuing academic excellence. Contact: Scott Vander Ploeg, Learning Resource Center, (270) 824-8684, scott.vanderploeg@kctcs.edu

Physical Therapist Assistant Club

The purpose of the PTA Club (PTAC) is to enrich and broaden the views and knowledge of current and future PTA students related to the role of the PTA in the medical field; to sponsor and engage in a variety of community service opportunities; and, to sponsor community/campus activities which promote awareness of the field of physical therapy. Activities include the MCC American Heart Walk, Bowl for Kids' Sake, and the BAJA 5K run and 1 mile walk. All students enrolled in the PTA Program and any other MCC student interested in pursuing the Physical Therapy field are eligible to join. Dues are $5.00/year. Contact: Stephanie Taylor, ACAD 110A, (270) 824-1743, staylor0106@kctcs.edu

R.I.S.E. (Retain, Integrate, Support, Educate)

RISE program objectives are to retain, integrate, support, and educate minority students in their pursuit of an education. The RISE initiative programs: Connect, Summer Boost, and Forward work hand and hand to provide a seamless process from enrollment to graduation, with workshops and referrals to other resources.

Contact: Silas J. Matchem, Sr., Enrollment Center, JHG C30, (270) 824-1738, silas.matchem@kctcs.edu

Student Ambassadors

The Student Ambassadors program provides current students with the opportunity to develop leadership, networking, and service skills by conducting tours, participating in college sponsored events, and representing the college and student body in a variety of other capacities. Student Ambassadors assist with events such as College Bound, Think College Early, Evening Voices, and Graduation. Contact: Brandi Edmiston, Enrollment Center, JHG C30, brandi.edmiston@kctcs.edu or Vincent Wilson, Student Center-JHG 165, vincent.wilson@kctcs.edu

Student Government Association

The mission of Madisonville Community College's Student Government Association (SGA) is to further development of the ideals, character, and knowledge of the College and its students; to insure a maximum of self-government based upon mutual respect of the students, administration, faculty, and staff; and to promote student activities.

Contact: Vincent Wilson, Student Center, JHG 165, vincent.wilson@kctcs.edu or Brandi Edmiston, Enrollment Center, JHG C30, brandi.edmiston@kctcs.edu